What I Learned from Having a Cast

img_0255From the beginning of December until this past Monday I’ve had a cast on my arm. I was playing broom hockey with my youth group and I slipped and fell on it. The doctors originally said it was just a sprain, but after a week they called us and said I had a buckle fracture, which needed a cast. And of course it had to be my right arm, which is the one I write with. Ironically my sister broke her arm two weeks before and had a cast on the same arm.

After having a cast on for four weeks, I have learned a lot and that’s why I’ve written this post. So here is what I have learned and I hope that even if you’ve never had a cast that you can apply this to your life:

  • It could have been worse: After thinking about it, my injury wasn’t as bad as it could have been. I had a shortened cast and I could still write a bit because I could move my thumb. My fracture wasn’t that bad too since it just buckled. I was also on Christmas break most of the time so I didn’t have to go to school.
  • Trust in God is key: Honestly, I have no idea why this happened to me. Especially since it was right when I was doing mid term exams and I was wanting to do calligraphy on my Instagram. But, the night that I hurt my arm, I sat in my bed singing to God, partially because I couldn’t sleep, but also because I didn’t understand why. Why me?? Also, I was suppost to get my cast off after two weeks, but when they took it off my arm was still hurting so they had me wear a cast for two more weeks.
  • I can do more than I expected: I thought that I would not be able to do anything, but I surprised myself. I wrote an essay for my exams and still did most of my usual activities like singing for church. Of course it was all God, but I’m glad my cast wasn’t too restricting.
  • It’s okay to ask for help: I’m a very independent person so asking for help was hard for me. But I realized that it’s okay and that you’re not being a burden to the person you’re asking. The things that I wasn’t able to do, I was able to ask my family for help so it was a great bonding time for us.
  • You have to learn your way around problems: There were many “problems” that came up because I had a cast. One of those problems was my bed because it’s a loft bed (like a bunk bed) and I had trouble getting up into it. We ended up putting it on the floor. Anyways, even though there were challenges we didn’t let those prevent me from accomplishing things.
  • I became closer with my sister: Because my sister also had a cast we were able to relate to each other. During my Nana’s Christmas performance we clapped together with our one good arm. We were also able to talk about what we were dealing with an sympathize.

Wow! Having a cast made a big impact on my life. It brought many memories that I am thankful for. Now I really know what it’s like to have a cast and hopefully I can help people in the future.

I hope this helped you in some way. If you’ve ever had a cast comment below! 🙂

One thought on “What I Learned from Having a Cast

  1. Allison January 23, 2017 / 11:22 pm

    Love this! And yes, I did have a cast when I was younger. For a buckle fracture as well 😂

    Like

Comment!